What’s Holding You Back From Feeling Amazing?

If you are a health goddess that is oozing with energy and vitality you can ignore this post, but if you feel like your body could use some TLC, please continue reading.  What I want to accomplish with this post, is to have you take a look at your life in regards to your health.  Do you like what you see?  If not, then let’s change things up my lovely friends!!  After all, wasn’t it Albert Einstein who said, “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  If you sincerely want to feel better you need to have a reality check!

What is holding you back?  Friends?  Bad Habits?  Time?  You can make new friends, you can create new habits, and you can always find more time, but you only get one body, and you need to treat it as your temple.  You need to surround yourself with people who are going to encourage a healthy lifestyle, not derail you.  You need to instill daily habits that are going to steer you towards healthy choices.  Sometimes, this means just giving yourself more time to prepare a healthy lunch. We all find time for the things we value in life.  Do you value television over your health?  That is not the path you want to take.  Take a minute to think about the quote below.

“So many people spend their health gaining wealth, and then have to spend their wealth to regain their health.”

A. J. Reb Materi

As with most things in life, you will find that what you put into it, is going to determine what you get out of it.  In regards to our bodies, if you want health, energy, and a long life, you need to put things into your body that are good for you!  If you put junk food, soda, excessive caffeine, and sugar into your system on a daily basis, your body is going to be too busy trying to digest all that garbage, to give you the energy you need throughout the day.

The way I try to think of it is, would I rather be happy for 30 minutes out of my day enjoying a junk food platter over lunch or enjoy 24 hours of high energy, proper digestion, improved mood and a clear conscious?  Everyone can make the change to put your health first, you just have to take baby steps.  I read the book, “Crazy, Sexy, Diet” by Kris Carr, and was immediately inspired to dramatically change my diet!   At first I tried to go cold turkey and gave up meat, dairy, sugar, caffeine, and gluten.  You might be wondering what was left for me to eat?  So was I!  Well, the answer is veggies, veggies and more veggies!  Of course, I could eat fruits, nuts, and some other grains, but for the most part I ate a lot of vegetables and drank a lot of spring water with lemon slices.  While this was super healthy, my mind and body could not handle all the withdrawal symptoms at once.

I decided to start over and take things a little bit slower.  I figured I should think of this like a relationship.  The fast relationships where you are just racing to the finish line never last and I wanted this diet change to last a lifetime.  I decided to give up chunks of things rather than everything all at once.  At this point I have now been dairy and caffeine free for 2 months, and have only had sugar in very small amounts.  If I am craving sugar I usually try to only eat dark chocolate from cocoa(which is the most healthy for you).  My body couldn’t be happier!!

Ok, so let’s get back on track here.  This is about YOU!  All of you lovely ladies and gentlemen out there in the great abyss!  In all of my research on preventative health, it really comes back to common sense in regards to what you should be feeding your body.  It is so important to eat organic vegetables, organic fruits, and lots of water!  Of course, you need to get protein as well, so you can try out raw, unsalted organic nuts.  I still have not been able to completely give up meat, so if you are in the same boat as me try at least switching to organic, free range chicken and turkey.  I don’t want this post to go on forever so please click on the resources below to learn more about how you can change your diet to let that inner health goddess out!  The changes may be a challenge at first, but trust me, your body will start to crave foods that will keep you functioning at top-notch!  You just need to give yourself some time to get all the nasties out!

Of course, the food you eat is just the first step.  We can tackle exercise in the next post!

“Every human being is the author of his own health or disease.”

-Buddha

Until next time,

Be Well!

Resources

Crazy Sexy Diet – Kris Carr: http://crazysexydiet.com/

Death By Diet- Robert Barefoot: http://barefootscureamerica.com/

Photos

http://www.vitaminddeficiency.me/always-tired-no-energy-no-motivation/

http://www.ebookreviewdownload.com/2011/01/crazy-sexy-diet-e-book-download.html

http://4bizmoms.com/products_and_services.htm

 http://www.vancouvernutritionist.com/blog/vancouver-nutritionist-avoid-ice-cold-water/

http://brianmaines.com/why-should-i-eat-more-fruits-and-vegetables/

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “What’s Holding You Back From Feeling Amazing?

  1. amanda says:

    Consider me inspired!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

